Renaissance Capital’s
Trends from the East
Virtual Conference


26 – 27 January 2021

With development in Eastern Europe, Asia and Australia
having a continuing profound impact on the South
Africa investable universe, our conference presents an opportunity
to hear the views of both internal and external industry experts on these regions.

The format of the conference will be 40-60 minutes
virtual presentations and  panel discussions , which will be streamed online here.

Schedule

Welcome speech

09:30 (Johannesburg)
07:30 (London)

Edward Southey – Director, Equity Sales SA, Renaissance Capital

Presentation: Emerging equity markets outlook

09:30 (Johannesburg)
07:30 (London)

Daniel Salter – Head of Research, Eurasia, Head of Equity Strategy, Renaissance Capital

Roundtable discussion: What impact is the New Development Bank having on development and growth in Africa

09:45 – 10:45 (Johannesburg)
07:45 – 08:45 (London)

Speakers:
• Leslie Maasdorp – Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, New Development Bank
• Dr. Martyn Davies – Managing Director, Emerging Markets & Africa, Deloitte & Touche
• Charles Robertson – Global Chief Economist, Head of Macro Strategy Unit, Renaissance Capital
Moderator: Charles Robertson – Global Chief Economist, Head of Macro Strategy Unit, Renaissance Capital

Presentation: How commodity intensive will China be over the next 5 years?

11:00 – 11:50 (Johannesburg)
09:00 – 09:50 (London)

John Johnson – CEO, CRU China

Presentation: Development of the hydrogen economy and fuel cells market

12:00 – 12:50 (Johannesburg)
10:00 – 10:50 (London)

Benny Oeyen – Executive Head of Market Development, Anglo American Platinum

Lunch break

13:00 – 14:00 (Johannesburg)
11:00 – 12:00 (London)

Presentation: The global energy transition outlook

14:00 – 14:50 (Johannesburg)
12:00 – 12:50 (London)

Andrew Cosgrove – Senior Analyst, Metals and Mining, Bloomberg Intelligence

Presentation: Spotlight on China’s technology sector and minerals market

15:00 – 16:00 (Johannesburg)
13:00 – 14:00 (London)

• Arthur Kroeber – Founding Partner & Head of Research, Gavekal
Moderator: Charles Robertson – Global Chief Economist, Head of Macro Strategy Unit, Renaissance Capital

Panel discussion: Building the last mile payments ecosystem in Nigeria – trends from the East

14:30 – 15:30 (Johannesburg)
12:30 – 13:30 (London)

The panel participants will discuss developments in the last mile payments space in Nigeria with a focus on agency banking and how this has and will continue to evolve over time with a view to exploring relevant lessons and business model read-across from the east.
Speakers:
• Joshua Yau – Managing VP, Nigeria, OPay
• Tunde Ogungbade – Managing Director, Global Accelerex
• Tayo Oviosu – Founder and Group CEO, Paga
• Tosin Eniolorunda – Founder and CEO, TeamApt
Moderator: Adesoji Solanke – Director, Equity Research Analyst, Frontier / SSA Banks & Fintech, Renaissance Capital

Speakers