Renaissance Capital’s
6th Annual Virtual East Africa Investor Conference

9-10 September 2020

The Annual East Africa Investor Conference
will be held for the sixth year in a row, and
for the first time in an online format.

 

The event will gather international and local African investors,

with a total AUM of $3.6+ trln and senior management

from East Africa’s leading corporates, such as Safaricom,

Equity Bank, KCB Group, East African Breweries,

CiplaQCIL and KenGen, among others.

The conference will play host to closed-door 1:1

and small group meetings and public panel sessions,

which will be streamed online here.

9 September

10 September

Schedule

Welcome address and introductory presentations

08:00 – 08:15 (London)
10:00 – 10:15 (Nairobi)

Speakers:
• Stanley Kariuki – CEO, Kenya, Renaissance Capital
• Charles Robertson – Global Chief Economist, Renaissance Capital
• Yvonne Mhango – Sub-Saharan Africa Economist, Head of Research, SSA, Renaissance Capital

Panel discussion: East Africa leading Sub-Saharan Africa’s recovery

08:15 – 09:15 (London)
10:15 – 11:15 (Nairobi)

This panel discussion will focus on East Africa’s recovery path from the COVID-19 pandemic and its associated restrictions. Panel participants will look into the factors that are playing in Kenya’s favour for a swifter recovery than the rest of Sub-Saharan Africa (e.g. its sizeable agriculture sector and the lower oil price) and discuss how the country can exploit those conditions to its benefit.
Speakers:
• Sheila M’Mbijjewe – The Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Kenya
• Tobias Rasmussen – IMF Resident Representative, Kenya
• Charles Robertson – Global Chief Economist, Renaissance Capital
Moderator:
• Yvonne Mhango – Sub-Saharan Africa Economist, Head of Research, SSA, Renaissance Capital

1:1 meetings

09:30 – 12:30 (London)
11:30 – 14:30 (Nairobi)

Lunch time

12:30 – 13:30 (London)
14:30 – 15:30 (Nairobi)

1:1 meetings

13:30 – 15:30 (London)
15:30 – 18:30 (Nairobi)

Panel discussion: Post-COVID-19 world: How to emerge from the crisis in a better shape

08:30 – 09:30 (London)
10:30 – 11:30 (Nairobi)

COVID-19 has created threats to existing business models – but also opportunities for others to innovate and exploit the gaps. This panel session will bring together companies from diverse sectors of the Kenyan economy, such as financial services, real estate, telecoms and others. Participants will discuss how the coronavirus pandemic has impacted their sectors – and served as a trigger to review strategy, question their adaptability in the face of market shocks, and revise and re-think their business models. The discussion will focus on the strategies and instruments the companies have adopted to deal with the crisis, what they think will be driving their industries in years to come and their plans going forward living in the ‘new normal’.
Speakers:
• Andrew Cowan – Group MD and CEO, East African Breweries
• Désiré Rumanyika – COO, Bank of Kigali
• Edward Kirathe – Founder and CEO, Acorn Holdings
• Nevin J Bradford – CEO, CiplaQCIL
Moderator:
• Daniel Salter – Head of Equity Strategy, Head of Research, Renaissance Capital

1:1 meetings

09:30 – 12:30 (London)
11:30 – 14:30 (Nairobi)

Lunch time

12:30 – 13:30 (London)
14:30 – 15:30 (Nairobi)

1:1 meetings

13:30 – 15:30 (London)
15:30 – 18:30 (Nairobi)

Speakers